Walking Dead: Survival Instinct

Buyer Beware. Really, unless you’re willing to part with $60 based on reputation (like buying the next installment of a series you’ve loved through six games… I’ll be buying TESO and whatever comes after Skyrim without hesitation), you should always look at reviews and forums for people’s opinions on whether the buy is good or not.

So, I wasn’t really *looking forward* to this game, but it was on my radar. I probably would have been looking for it more if I had any free time whatsoever over the next two months, but I don’t. I won’t even be able to play Bioshock Infinite at launch because I’ll be homeless and my 360 will be in the back of a big truck on its way to my new home three states away. Soo… when I saw it had released, I took a look on Steam, and was shocked to see that it was a full $50. I never had the impression that it was supposed to be a full-fledged game. I thought it was a TV-show companion or something. Maybe this stemmed from the fact that every time I saw a commercial for it during the show, it was just about the Dixon brothers put into digital form, not anything to do with gameplay. Apparently there was a reason for this: according to everyone, everywhere, this game blows. Even if you are a TWD fanatic (I’ve watched every episode, read every comic, played the Telltale game) I’d wait until it’s on sale. I doubt we’re missing much.

Here’s some articles for you:

Kotaku: Worst Game I’ve Played This Year

VG 24/7 scores and gameplay video

IGN Shoot it in the head.

Giant Bomb one star

Bloody Disgusting- an apocalypse not worth surviving

So… yeah. Skip it. On the plus side, if you haven’t played the Telltale game, and you have a PS Vita (if you fall into either category, I feel sorry for you), the good game will be coming to Vita!

2 thoughts on “Walking Dead: Survival Instinct

  1. I know you shouldn’t judge a book by its cover, but.. I did. And I was right about it. This game is just… bad. Better to stick with Telltale’s take on The Walking Dead.

    • That’s what I’ve heard. I couldn’t believe Chris Hardwick was giving copies to the audience on Talking Dead last night… or that Merle’s actor, Michael Rooker, apparently doesn’t have a clue. Can’t blame him. I have a book with a poem I wrote in it just because my name’s in it! Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

